How to choose digital forensic certifications for your team

Digital forensics, also known as computer forensics, is a branch of forensic science that deals with computer-based crimes and the identification and recovery of digital evidence. It has provided organizations with a wide range of resources, including the initial collection and evidence against intruders, as well as mass storage devices in recent years. These developments and the rise of digital crime beyond the computer have led companies to quickly realize the importance of cybersecurity and protecting their company data. We see a rise in demand for warranted digital forensic experts and an increase in digital forensic certifications.
Digital forensic experts require certain skills
To become a Digital Forensic Investigator, you will need a specific set of skills. These skills can range from hard to soft. Computer analysts need to develop soft skills such as good communication skills, a keen eye for detail, and trustworthiness (e.g., confidentiality of employer’s data).
Digital Forensic staff should also be familiar with investigative tools such as Encase, ProDiscover, and Access Data FTK. Understanding log analysis, dark-web monitoring and malware analysis is essential. However, it is important to have a solid understanding of law enforcement standards. Employers will require proof of knowledge, such as a degree or certificate in IT, computer science, criminal justice, to prove such skills. Alternatives include presenting a recognized certification, such as the CHFI (Computer Hacking Investigator), or a degree in IT, computer science, or criminal justice.
The right certifications to give your team the edge
How can one choose the right certification for a team in such a situation? The right certification is a combination of theoretical knowledge and practical experience. As government IT regulations tighten, and the threat of data security increases, organizations have quickly adapt and trained their staff to become digital forensic experts. Which certification is best for your team?
CHFI – Computer Hacking Forensic Investigator
The EC-Council’s CHFI Certification has gained a lot of recognition over the years and has been approved by the DoD as well as the Army Credentialing Assistance. The CHFI Certification is focused on analytical techniques, forensics tools and network traffic. It also covers cloud forensics and policies and regulations. This comprehensive course covers all aspects of forensic investigation. Students can gain hands-on experience with hundreds of investigation tools such as Access Data and FTK. This certification can enhance the applied knowledge of law enforcement officers and digital forensic aspirants. The CHFI certification is open to anyone who is interested in forensics from IT professionals to military and police officers.
NetCom Learning is the best training organization for this course. It includes official courseware, iLabs and online labs with 6 month access. A strong understanding of the technical aspects involved in data security is required for the CHFI course. NetCom Learning’s training methodology provides the practical experience necessary to support technical knowledge.
EnCE – EnCase Certified Examiner
OpenText EnCase Certified Examiners (EnCE) is a program that certifies professionals in the use and maintenance of OpenText EnCase Forensic. The EnCE certification certifies professionals who have successfully used EnCase software in complex computer examinations. EnCE certification is recognized by both law enforcement and corporate communities to be a symbol for computer forensics expertise.
Who is it for? – The EnCE certification is intended for information security professionals who want to create and maintain an information security strategy to address emerging threats in cyberspace in accordance with a business’s goal using the OpenText(tm Security Suite).
Candidates must complete 64 hours of approved Computer Forensic Training, or have 12 months of work experience to earn the EnCE certification. The EnCE exam is designed to verify that computer forensic examiners and analysts have mastered computer investigation methods.
ACE – AccessData Certified Examiner
AccessData Certified Examiner (ACE), a credential that demonstrates the user’s proficiency with AccessData’s Forensic Toolskit (FTK). The exam is not intended to assess forensic investigation workflows but rather proficiency with AccessData’s Forensic Toolkit (FTK). While there are no prerequisites to this certification, it is highly recommended that your teams have some experience using the tool or have taken the required courses.
AccessData Certified Exa